Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Creative Week 21

Leave a comment

Lovely Sunday morning spent with my husband watching our little son playing cricket, at Rectory Park, Sutton Coldfield in the West Midlands.

Sunday morning cricket 30th June 2013

 

Here he is just about to start

Little son just about to start playing his cricket match

 

The rest of this past week has been spent on trying out different/new ways (to me) of doing old things.  For example, tube piecing to make diagonal striped squares.

tube piecing 1

 

 

I also made a couple of pineapple blocks I always thought these were to much like hard work to construct, what with all those angles to be cut, how wrong I was, this technique is so easy and quick to do, all using 21/2″ strips.

pineapple 1

 

 

pineapple 2

I’ll be turning these to into cushion covers but now I realise how easy this is construction is I may make a whole quilt this way.

I have cut the fabric for the next project, it is sitting waiting on my table, but as the vacuum cleaner has decided to breakdown this could be stitched a lot soon than I expected – Hurray!

the next project cut

This weeks quilt idea I have called Peaches

peaches quilt

This quilt measures 52″ by 52″ but could easily be adapted for different sizes.

peaches block 1

 

peaches block 2

The blocks are 10″ square (finished) The quilt has two borders- the inner border measuring 2″ wide (finished) and the second 4″ (finished)

Follow these links for the fabric requirements – peaches fabric requirements For the rotary cutting instructions – peaches block 1 rotary cutting info  peaches block 2 rotary cutting info For the templates peaches templates

Before I go here is the cricket tea I produced on Saturday for the Olton and West Warwickshire Cricket Club 3rd Eleven and their Opposition, there wasn’t much left – the scones and cakes (all home made) always go down well.

cricket tea 29th June 2013

The cakes this week were – vanilla with chocolate butter cream, sticky ginger cake, my special lemon drizzle and apple with a hint of cinnamon and of course scones with either raspberry or strawberry jam.

until next week. Thanks for dropping by. x

 

Leave a Reply

