Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Creative Week 13

4 Comments

zig zag quilt top

I have actually done some sewing this week – I bought a kit whilst in the States last year for this quilt top but decided I didn’t want to make the size suggested so in stead of the 81/2″ by 41/2″ rectangles I used 21/2″ by 41/2″, but made the quilt up in the same manner ( removed some of the smaller triangles replacing them with a larger one where necessary).  This small version measures 28″ by 31″, I will be adding borders.  This all means I have lots of these fabrics left to play with.

pinks

oranges

greens

yellows

blues

Next up for these fabrics is a nine patch quilt.

This weeks quilt idea:- Woven Windows

This quilt measures 491/2″ square

woven windows

Each block is 6″ square.  I love the way the blue seems to add a third dimension to this quilt idea.

woven windows block

Each block is the same but on a different orientation this link will take you to the quilt layout. woven windows layout

The following is the fabric requirements in yards – woven windows fabric. The rotary cutting info – woven windows rotary cutting and the templates for hand stitch this block – woven windows templates

I have included another version of the same quilt, just by rearranging the colours and adding white has given this a completely different look which I have called Woven Stars.

woven stars

The layout, the block, the rotary cutting info and the templates are just the same as before so follow those links above but here is the fabric requirements (in yards) for this version – woven stars fabric

Now the garden calls – it is a public holiday here and for once the weather is set to be good – perhaps this is our one and only day of summer this year best make the most of it!  Thanks for dropping by. x

4 thoughts on “Creative Week 13

  1. Love those fabrics, the colours are gorgeous!

  2. Thank you very much.

  3. love your chevron quilt! The fabrics are fantastic!

    • Thank you very much, I am so glad you like them. I liked them so much I couldn’t just make the quilt that was intended; so far I have made 3 quilts from the kit pack, with some left over for another one – watch this space.

Leave a Reply

