Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Creative Week 6

2 Comments

Before I show some of the last weeks creativity a reminder that this week from Thursday is Sewing for Pleasure: Fashion, Embroidery and Stitch/Hobbycraft event at the NEC Birmingham.

For tickets and info follow this link:- http://www.ichf.co.uk/sewingforpleasure/

I made a bag from bits cut from the fabrics I am using for the backings and frames for my scrap quilt (still a work in progress). I love it, the size, I thought might have been a bit small, is actually really good for me; just one thing I need to add a closure to the top, I don’t like it so open as I am a bit o.c.d. when it comes to security and having had a handbag stolen sometime ago (with my whole life in it) I really don’t want to have anything lifted from this one.

Easy bag

Easy bag

To quilt the bag quickly I just used an orange variegated cotton thread and the fly stitch built into my machine over all the sections except where the final construction appears. Would I construct the bag in the same way next time – well, no. I am already working on another bag this time using some layer cake squares I have left over form something else; I would also add internal pockets and consider some form of internal closure.

Below is a quilt created in EQ7 which can be made from a Jelly Roll, although you will find fabric requirements attached.

easy georgia

Please click on the following links for the block diagram easy georgia block , the rotary cutting info easy georgia rotary cutting instructions and the fabric requirements easy georgia fabric requirements.

2 thoughts on “Creative Week 6

  1. Lesley, always add inside pockets to fabric bags, and a key holder. Either a long piece of fabric or ribbon stitched in the top seam and sewn onto a swivel lobsterclaw clasp…. or, hijack one from something else, like camera straps. I have it so the keys then are either in the very bottom of the bag, but on a long attachment so can be easily found, or will drop inside a pocket I’ve made, but still attached. Or make with split rings. Before I did this I used to fasten keys inside bags wit a huge safety pin!

  2. Thanks Bev.
    I had thought of those as I have them on all my handbags currently – I might do a bit of cannibalisation . Trying to find keys in the dark (anytime of day for me) is a right game. I am going to add a zipped bag within the bag to put my purse in. I never hear my phone so it can go at the bottom of the bag to be answered when I remember! Lovely to hear from you I’ll be in touch by email asap.

Leave a Reply

