Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Creative Week 4

Leave a comment

chicken final trial

Above is the final trial for my chicken/Easter table runner and mats (without its eyes!), this block measures 61/2” by 51/2”.  I have yet to decide whether to set it on point or square on, with or without sashing.

chicken trial 1chicken trial 2

These are my other trails:- the first was discarded because I didn’t want the bars down the sides, although I do like the fabrics, shame I don’t have any left.  The second was the trial for the final choice but made form charm squares, this measures 5” by 5” a bit too small for what I need.

grid quilt top finishedgrid quilt top detail

I also finished the grid quilt top too.  I would re-create this but I would think long and hard about the construction to eliminate any unnecessary seams.  I particularly like the weave effect of the sashing strips.  All that needs to be done is layering it up (a job I hate), quilting, adding a label and binding – a job I love.

Oh just a reminder that this week see the Creative Stitches/HobbyCraft Show in Glasgow from the 7th to 10th March http://www.ichf.co.uk/csh/?show=glasgow And the Spring Quilt Show at Duxford (8th to 10th) http://www.grosvenorshows.co.uk/html/Spring_Duxford.html

Leave a Reply

