Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Creative Week 1

4 Comments

I promised myself that I would try to blog something every week, that  is if I made anything!  This last week I have finished hand piecing the Dutch Rose block,

dutch rose

made the twist using 1/4 square triangles for a quick to machine piece block (something I will be trying with a number of other quilt blocks to make them easier and much quicker to put together), 

twist paper pieced

The twist paper pieced.

Twist quick machine pieced

The Twist made using 1/4 square triangles machine pieced

cut out ready for assembly a quilt using a few of the many charm squares I have

Next project cut ready to piece

and framed two scrap blocks so they measure 15” square.

framed block 1framed block 2

4 thoughts on “Creative Week 1

  1. Gosh, that Dutch Rose block is pretty. Well done!

    • Thank you. I am working on a few more blocks that can be made more simply from triangles rather than awkward (in some cases) ‘Y’ seams.

  2. Love the scrappy blocks, they are so happy. What is coming next?

Leave a Reply

