Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

How far can a layer cake go?

Leave a comment

From just one pile of 40 10” squares of fabric and 1 metre of two coordinating fabrics and 1/4 of basic white, how many items can be made?

I chose to work with Moda’s basic grey/blitzen with the coordinating fabric taken from this range.

Christmas Layer CakeChristmas Yardage 1Christmas Yardage 2

 

The basic white I had from Doughty’s online – I bought a whole bolt as I can get through white at a rate that can be quite frightening at times as it is so versatile and it is slightly cheaper to buy a bolt.

I did not use the layer cake pieces as 10” squares but chose to cut these into 5” squares.  Which in effect gave me 4 charm packs.

From these charm packs I used 69 squares for the large quilt with a 1/4 metre of white and 1/2 metre of the red yardage.

Large 51x51

This quilt measures 51”x51” and came from an idea I had seen many years ago (sadly I can’t remember where).  Once I had made this quilt top I decided it was far too large for my needs so I got to work again reducing the number of 5” squares for the centre.

Medium 41x41

It has yet to be finished but is a much more the size I require 41″x41″.  All that is left to do is:- layering up, quilting, and finally the binding – this applies today to all the items I have made from this fabric line.

With the left overs I have made 3 smaller table toppers measuring 18” and the backing for one of these toppers, which could be used to make a cushion instead as the piece measures 19” square.

small 1 18x18Small 2 18x18Small 3 18x18

Backing 19inches

 

At the present time I only have scraps left of the layer cake and about 1/2 metre of the white/red/green yardage. Perhaps I will make a cushion and use the basic white as the backing.

Could I have made much more from just this one layer cake?

Next time I use a layer cake  it will, perhaps, be time to change shape!

The layer cake is (apart from being a calorie loaded type of cake) a selection of approximately 40 x 10” squares of fabric, the selection is usually from the entire fabric designs in one range but can and often does contain duplicates. The name Layer Cake was originally coined by Moda, although there are other selections from other manufacturers.

Leave a Reply

