Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

I can’t believe it has been so long since my last post!

Leave a comment

Has it really been 5 weeks since I last posted?  Well sadly it has my excuses…. I have none, other than I have been working hard to finish my Open University course which has finally been sent off on its merry way.  The results won’t be available, I have found out, until at least 15th June.

I have worked on a quilt ready to take with me to America on Wednesday.

It is based on the 10 minute block I found on the internet, using Kaffe Fassett and Sherrill Khan fabrics.  I tried the quilt as you go method of quilting – I layered up each individual block then quilted them very simply by straight stitching diagonally into the corners.  These where then joined together with fabric strips.  I then built up the borders from fabrics from the same layer cake pack of Kaffe Fassett fabrics for the front and from the remaining fat quarters of Sherrill Khan fabrics.  I had run out before the binding was done so this was cut from fabric bought for me for Christmas by my big son.  I love it, it looks scrappy and now that it has been washed it has that old puffed up feel to it which I love.  I hope the recipient loves it as much as I do.  But I suppose the big question is – would I do it again?

Well – yes I would but!……. I would re-think the 10 minute block whilst it is very easy to do, getting it to ‘sit’ right was very difficult even though I have been sewing for years and years trying to get the points perfect, hmmm………Maybe I have just got to get over the perfect bit.  Would I quilt as I went again – Yes I would it is so less stressful to manage a small block than to try to fight a massive piece of work, although I am not too keen on the fabric strips all over the place(unless, of course, that’s the look I’m after), so there again I will play with it until I find the solution.  Would I use these fabrics again (if I can get them) yes I would I love the graphic bright Sherrill Khan ones – the colours are just lovely.  The Kaffe Fassett ones hmmm… I’m not a floral person but if the pattern is big enough to enable the cut to look like an abstract and the colours were ‘right’ then possibly.  Having said that I do have another quilt on the go using some of his fabric range.  See the following link-: https://artnextdoor.wordpress.com/2011/10/24/kaffe-fassett-workshop-quilt/

Right I must pack!

Leave a Reply

