Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

It Pays to Buy in the Summer!

Leave a comment

I bought these yarns back in the summer when they were in a sale at less than half price.

yarn 1yarn 2

 

I have 20 balls of each colour but I am using one ball from each pack to experiment with to find the tension I want and the stitch pattern I will use.  I am not a very fast knitter by hand but put me in front of my knitting machine and well I can produce loads in a day.  Unfortunately that is the easy part, the work comes before and after production.  I HATE sewing things up and never unless I really have to sew buttons on to things, I try to convince somebody else to do it.

sample 1

Above is the first sample I have been working on.  As it is still a work in progress I haven’t blocked it yet so the edges are curling up.  I think I will need to use a larger needle to cast on with to help prevent this, or a type of picot edge perhaps.  As I say a slow work in progress but I do intend to actually finish this at some point whether it be a jumper, tunic, wrap or cardigan – I know some type of combination!  We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

