Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Blocks 3 and 4 for DD’s quilt.

2 Comments

Block 3Block 4

I have completed all 12 blocks for dear daughters new quilt.  I now have to cut the sashing and stitch the blocks together.  I also have to consider the quilting pattern, as there is such a large area in the centre of each block I have endless possibilities – mmm which to choose?

I have to put things on the back burner for a few days as I am off to the Festival of Quilts which is being held at the NEC outside Birmingham, just 11 miles from my home.  I will, if you remember, be attending two workshops this year.  The first on Friday is with Sandra Meech entitled Digital Imagery in Stitched Textiles and on Saturday, Colour in Design with Kaffe Fassett.

I am very interested in using images in my work, having done so recently whilst working towards my City & Guilds qualification although that experiment did not make it to the final piece of work.

Whilst studying at what was then the Birmingham Institute of Art and Design, now part of Birmingham City University, back in the 1990’s I was awarded a prize for my use of colour, so Saturdays workshop should be interesting.  I have the fabrics (please see previous post) to which I have added a couple more as I felt I needed a dark fabric.  I now just need to pack up everything else.

On Friday, after my workshop, I have arranged to meet one of my fellow distance learning colleges for coffee and a chat about our experiences, something I am very much looking forward to.

2 thoughts on “Blocks 3 and 4 for DD’s quilt.

  1. Your upcoming classes sound exciting. I’d love to see photo when you return. I have a feeling they are going to be fantastic. Enjoy!!
    Ricci
    Superior Threads

Leave a Reply

