Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

At Last First Six Blocks of Quilt for DD

Leave a comment

At last I have cut out and stitched together the first 6 blocks of a new quilt for my dear daughter.  As I mentioned before she is the proud own of a fairy quilt but at the ripe old age of 20 wanted one that reflects her age, so unknown to her I had bought some fabric with her in mind.  Fortunately when she saw them she was really pleased with the colours but as she is working away in France for the summer hasn’t seen them in the flesh.  I worked on the design for the quilt whilst we were with her in July.  I took photocopies of the fabric with me so she still hasn’t seen them up close and personal.  We agreed the design which was inspired by a section of the garden at the Chateau Villandry in the Loire valley.

On Friday I cut out all of the sections for just two of the blocks we had decided upon. (My back won’t put up with too much standing in one place for long.)  Yesterday I sat and stitched some parts together then got way laid by the ironing which winked at me from the corner whilst I was pressing seams.  Today I was allowed, in between making bread, cooking dinner, organising children, talking websites with my husband and dying my hair purple again, to finish these first six blocks.

Block 1Block 2

Only six more to go.  If I am allowed tomorrow I will cut out the remaining six blocks and stitch these on Tuesday.  Watch this space.  The quilt has to be finished before 9th September and now she wants cushions to match!

Leave a Reply

