Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

Fabrics for Kaffe Fassett Workshop at The Festival of Quilts.

Leave a comment

I went to see my mum for the first time since the beginning of May yesterday.  With me being ill, fetching Dear Daughter from university, getting her off to work in France, Dear Husbands work schedule, Number two son’s school schedule it has been difficult.  Mum doesn’t like us to go if we are in anyway ill as she doesn’t want to catch it – which is fair enough but it is sad that I haven’t seen her for such a long time.  Her next door neighbour is a bit of a ‘You can’t do that’, ‘I’ll make your life a misery if you do’ sort of person has complained that mum’s attempt at saving water by installing a water butt has blighted the area as this woman can see the butt from her front door!  To keep the peace mum has had to part with money to screen it off from this person’s view.  Yet this woman has left an unsightly wheelie bin parked in the centre of her drive right outside mum’s front door, smelling away in this hot weather whilst she’s away on holiday. Unbelievable!

Well back to the fabrics for the workshop.  On the way home from my mum’s I called into the Cotton Patch in Hall Green.  My husband and little son went to do the shopping and take it home before returning for me.  I spent an enjoyable hour and a half with Denise playing with bolts of fabric, even snatching some from under the nose’s of the chaps trying fulfil the mail order requests.  Eventually I managed to gather all that I need (I hope!).  I had gone in there with an idea of a colour scheme but that was completely abandoned within minutes of starting.  Below are the fabrics I have chosen, please let me know what you think.  The instructions were for low contrast I think I have achieved that.

Fabrics 1Fabrics 3

Today I have scanned and photographed each individual fabric, resized and up loaded each to EQ7 for designing with – a mammoth task on one of the hottest days of the year.  I even ironed some of them – mad of what – I like to call it dedicated.  I had to get at least 9 large scale prints (done – just) and at least 15 small to medium scale prints (done with 3 to spare).  Now for a cup of tea.

Leave a Reply

