Artnextdoor's Blog

My place to be creative

City & Guilds Patchwork and Quilting

Leave a comment

 

Below are the images of the cushion I made for the item for an interior assessment.  The cushion is for my computer chair as I need to support my lower back whilst working.

I chose to take the theme/design inspiration from the trees I can see from my front window.  The colours are also inspired by the trees in autumn.  At the time decay and loss were high in my thoughts, which I have tried to indicate in the cushion by just applying the small triangles in the centre section with small cross stitches, this will enable these triangles of colour to curl and fray as the cushion is used.

Please remind me to think very carefully about using velvet in an application like this again as it was a complete nightmare to work with.

 

Leave a Reply

